purgeday thursday [and friday]

I’m about to hit my first blogaversary and I still feel like a newbie to the blogging world. Mainly, because I just don’t blog regularly enough. Or even comment on other blogs often. Not because I lack things to say. I just don’t have enough time to say it in. It’s all my effing school work. I’m buried. And I’ve burnt out.  But, I do like blogs, and blogging, and bloggers. I like the link-ups happening all over the place. They’re quite tempting. Even if I can’t find the time to join in. (We’ll except for wordless wednesday, I suppose. But, that’s really just a way to ensure that I post something at least once a week.)    

And then there’s Morgan. You know, over at the 818. She just started a fun weekly series that I feel compelled to join: Purgeday Thursday. Okay, maybe not exactly fun. More like, necessary and fantastic. I mean, who doesn’t need to get rid of un-necessarily crap? (I certainly do.)  And who wouldn’t want a support group while doing said purging? (Honestly, I might need it.)

Purging? Is something I’ve been meaning to do for a while now. We just have a lot of stuff. What’s worse, most of our stuff isn’t even really ours. People keep giving us thing. Things we don’t need. But, I can’t say no. (Not if I want to sleep at night without replaying the situation over and over in my head, knowing that I’ve must have offended them by saying no and have now irrecoverably damaged our relationship. )With all this things comes clutter. Which is mainly contained to the garage or closets.

And then there is the place we affectionately refer to as hoarders corner: 

yikes, this is embarrassing...

 

This is all us. It’s just so much randomness.. a small fortune in change, my mom’s mail (she lived with us up until a few months ago so we’re still getting her mail), window markers/crayons, left over gift bags from the Pea’s party, cords, shoes, books, Eric’s business junk, baby wipes, the broken camera,  a shopping bag, and the realization that I kinda suck at life. In the spirit of full disclosure, the picture is missing a couple cups of coffee and a can of beer (as this is the only furniture we have that’s the podlings can’t reach.) Now for a peek inside the little bins.

 Bin #1 contains: all sorts of paper products: mail, stickers, pictures, receipts, magazines, my dignity and apparently a lint roller:

 Bin #2  contains junk. All sorts of junk:
And Bin # 3 I actually dig. Right now it has all of our winter gear in easy reach. When it gets warmer I swap it out for sunblock, sunglasses, and summer hats:   
 
 Just so you know, I bought these cubbies with good intentions. I thought it would help us become a little more organized. A place to store shoes so we wouldn’t trip on them all over the house or stash our bags when we walk in  the door. A place to hold library books so we don’t forget to return them. Then it just started collecting junk. In an obvious stroke of genius I bought the little bins. I thought they’d help catch the necessary stuff that piles up and looks trashy: like mail, craft projects and whatnot. But, that backfired too. If we’re doing a quick pick up the majority of stuff just gets shoved in so company doesn’t see it.  And the law “out of sight, out of mind” wins every time. I never remember to go back and clean it out until I need something. Then my lack of time comes into play. And sometimes, I’m just overwhelmed with the stuff we have to have but I don’t know what to do with.  So, hoarders corner is where I begin.

Using some of the tips in this post from Morgan and her tips from  Bneato I hope to be able to covert my hoarders corner in to something more manageable. (Now that it’s public, there will be no stopping me.) Check back next week and I’ll post pics of my progress and then I’ll tackle the garage.   Wish me luck.

”The818.com”

<3

(and look at me posting actual words two days in a row.)

6 Comments

Filed under blogging

6 responses to “purgeday thursday [and friday]

  1. You’re no worse off than me for sure! I’m excited to see what you do with hoarders corner. ;)

  2. We all have some version of hoarder’s corner (box, corner, room…)

    You know, it really isn’t that bad – but now that you’ve documented it, I’m sure that you’ll reorganize. Everyone loves before and after shots!

  3. I think I need to devote a whole post to my love/hate of those square cubes – it’s wonderful that the pull outs hold so much, until I realize just how much I fill them up with junk.

    Also, living in Los Angeles, I was a bit jealous that you had a winter bin. Would love to have an excuse for that :)

Leave a Reply

