am I really crying right now…

Okay, so it might be a bit early in our relationship to say this but, I’ll freely admit that I cried like baby when Dobby died. I don’t think that is strange. I was invested in that relationship for the better part of seven years.  I’m telling you this so you know that crying over children’s books is not abnormal for me. But-by no means is it common for me either.

With that being said, I think you can image that I am at least mildly surprised when I find myself choking up while reading to my kids lately.  I first noticed it while reading ‘No David’ to the Danger-man last week. It seems like that book was written just for him-really, it is uncanny. Now it’s ‘Stellaluna’. I’m pretty sure I read it 10 times today. (at least!) And, I swear, it was like a kick in the teeth every time I read it. For some reason, I have oodles of empathy for that damn little mama bat and with that comes an overwhelmingly grateful feeling  that my own babies are cuddled up next to me listening to a storybook.  

I don’t know, perhaps, I’m just getting too invested in the characters after the hundredth time through.

I can’t help but wonder, am I the only one that gets this emotional over children’s books? (Surely not. Right??)

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Thing 1, Thing 2

Leave a Reply

