could ya just slow down for a bit…

It has taken me 10 days to write this post. Partly, because I’ve been super busy but mainly, I just wasn’t ready to form these words just yet. (Honestly, I’m still not.)

The Pea–is basically walking. WALKING.

And I don’t like it one bit. (Of course it’s super cute and I am ridiculously proud of her.) It’s just: I don’t need, or want, any more proof of how quickly she is growing up right now.

We’re nearing her first birthday. (Isn’t that bad enough?)

And lately, when I look at her, I don’t see a baby anymore. I see 6 teeth, and enough hair to make the most perfect pigtails. I see her standing up, testing her sea-legs, and trying to keep up with her brother. I see her dancing. I see her stubbornness and her independence. I see this beautiful new creature that didn’t exist just two months ago.  And as much as I relish in these new changes I resent them a bit too. My baby has been replaced by a toddler (much too soon for my taste).

I can’t figure out why she is in such a hurry to grow up and I wish she would knock it off. Don’t think I’m a terrible mother (I’m not so bad). I only want her to slow down a tiny bit. Give me the chance to fully enjoy one milestone before she cruises on to the next. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Thing 2

Leave a Reply

