oh honey, don’t stop!

That’s exactly what I kept saying in bed last night. But, it’s not what you think.

You see, Eric does this thing where he lightly traces his finger over my face while I’m trying to fall asleep. (It’s the most perfect feeling, sigh.)  He used to do it nearly every night. But,it doesn’t happen as often anymore. Probably because we had kids and he now uses that trick to help the kids fall asleep ( and, I really can’t complain about that.) The only problem is, odds are about 50/50 that Eric will fall asleep first.

Anyway, our poor Pea-face. After discovering that her ears hurt, she proceeded to act accordingly: absolutely effing miserable. (I honestly don’t think she has screamed that much since she was a newborn.) When I finally got her off to sleep, it was short-lived. From upstairs, sans monitor, I could hear her groaning in her sleep. When I went to check on her, she looked so pitiful I thought she needed to sleep with us. Eric protested at first. (Because he remembered what this was like and he was afraid that she hasn’t been weaned long enough to forget about those shenanigans.) But, he took one look at her pitiful little face and made room. The Pea snuggled in happily between us at first but then  just couldn’t get comfortable. She kept flopping around trying to find a comfy spot to go back to sleep. 

When she couldn’t get settled, she opted for screaming. Eric remembered his handy little trick and she quieted down immediately. She was about to drift off when Eric hand stopped moving. The second he fell asleep she started screaming right where she left off. (I suppose I should mention: for the life of me, I can’t do it.  Believe me, I tried. And whenever I try, the kids just brush my hands away.)  True to form she just brushed my hand away and continued screaming. So, I had to wake up Eric and keep him awake until the Pea was out.

Trust me, that phase didn’t seem so dirty at the time. (And, don’t worry, we let him sleep in this morning.)

I don’t think coffee is going to hack it this morning. I may need to go straight for a mimosa or a screwdriver.

4 Comments

Filed under Thing 2

4 responses to “oh honey, don’t stop!

  1. Oh that is the best feeling ever – I’d take a facial petting session over a steak dinner any day. It puts our kid right out, too.

  2. My dad used to do this to get me to go to sleep also … i call them goosebumps! Funny how giving them can be just as relaxing and sleep inducing as receiving them 🙂

Leave a Reply

