pick of the week

This past week the weather here has been horrible. And completely out of the ordinary. Rain, gray skies, and wind I can deal with. But this… This bitter cold and snow has to go!

Except for a quick trip outside to make a snowman– like so:

Conrad the Snowman

We’ve been stuck inside having dance parties and watching entirely too much tv.  And since I don’t want their brains to rot and drip out of their ears on my watch (just because of a bit of crappy weather) we’ve also been cuddling under blankets with some good books.

So, without further ado here’s my pick(s) of the week:

For the Pea:

A Book of Sleep by Il Sung Na

If you can’t tell but the cover, the illustrations are amazing. My favorite? The pigeons who sleep with one eye open.

for the Danger-man:

You Are Special by Max Lucado

A sweet little tale about a puppet who isn’t liked by all the other puppets but then learns it doesn’t matter. One of my all time favorite children’s book. And I think it’s a good lead in for kindergarten. (Especially since the Danger-man is already a bit worried the other kids won’t like him.)

For mama:

Snuff by Chuck Palahniuk

This book was shoved thru my mail slot on Thursday (thanks to paperbackswap) and I nearly my pants with excitement. I just started so there’s nothing to tell, but it is Chuck Palahniuk so I know I will not be disappointed. (Crap, what does that say about my sense of humor.)

Here’s to hoping next week our weather will be back on track and we can get out of the house.

4 Comments

Filed under Books

4 responses to “pick of the week

  1. Conrad looks very respectable in his nice hat. I finished Snuff in two days on account of it’s general dirtiness and creep factor. Enjoy!

  2. Can’t wait to check out those books! “General dirtiness and creep factor” sounds like a winner!

Leave a Reply

